Monday, January 30, 2012

Call for Nominations

The Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research

An annual award of The Roper Center

The Mitofsky award honors important work on public opinion and/or survey methodology that has been accomplished, published, or presented at a professional conference. Nominees can include recent work or past work that continues to have a significant impact on our understanding of public opinion. Nominations can be made for a specific project, innovation, conference paper, article or book, or for a larger body of work by a researcher or practitioner. Special consideration will be given to work that is based on data obtained directly from the Roper archive. The 2012 award carries a cash prize of $1,000 and the winner will be publicly announced in the fall.

The award honors the life and work of the late Warren J. Mitofsky, an innovator in survey research and longtime chair of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research board of
directors. The past winners include political scientist John Mueller, health policy authority Robert Blendon, sociologist Robert Wuthnow, General Social Survey originator, James Davis, and media pollster Kathleen Francovic.

Anyone can make a nomination (including self-nominations) by submitting a statement that includes the full citation of the work(s), a brief description of the work’s significance and impact, and (if appropriate) its use of the Roper Center’s public opinion data archives.

For full consideration, nominations must be received by March 31, 2012. Please send nominations (electronically preferred) to:

Professor Michael X. Delli Carpini

Annenberg School for Communication University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia, PA 19104-6220

No comments:

Post a Comment